K’ba III, Konye Councils Get New Deputy Mayors

The Kumba III Sub divisional Council and the Konye Council in Meme division , South West Region now have new deputy Mayors.  They were voted into office during extraordinary council sessions that held Thursday August 20.

The sessions in strict respect of provisions of section 205(1) and 231(1) of law no. 2019/024 of December 24, 2019, to institute the General Code of Regional and Local Authorities.

Some of the deputy Mayors in the two Councils stepped down  due to incompatibility of functions as per the law. The Minister of decentralisation and local development , Georges Elanga Obam, had accepted their resignations  tendered as deputy Mayors in favour of their civil service  jobs, incompatible with municipal functions.

In kumba III Sub divisional Council, Electricia Manka Ngwa was voted to replace Josephine Ngassa Noupue as second deputy Mayor. The latter is a civil servant in the Ministry of Finance in Yaounde.

The new second deputy Mayor beat her immediate challenger, Ida Mbone Mukwelle by 14 to 11 votes. The session was chaired by the Senior Divisional Officer for Meme division represented by the First Assistant, Joseph Nguime.

Since the outgoing second deputy Mayor, Josephine Ngassa Noupue , was a Member of the Kumba City Council Board, she was to be replaced. However, the election to replace her at the Board ended in fiasco as two camps of councillors refused to reach a consensus.

The camp of the Mayor of the kumba III sub divisional Council, Dr Isaac Nguba Mukwelle , wanted to go in for voting but that of the Pioneer Mayor of the Council, Dr Samuel Ndeme Takem, argued that, the invitation to the Extraordinary session did not mention any election into the  City Council but rather to elect a new second deputy Mayor , which to him had been done.

This disagreement caused the First Assistant SDO for Meme division, Joseph Nguime, to adjourn the issue.

What transpired in Konye

At the konye Council, Comfort Mande and Terence Ngoe were voted into office as first and third deputy Mayors respectively to replace Robinson Bangume Itoe and Dorothy Sakwe.

The election at the konye Council Chambers was chaired by the Senior Divisional Officer for Meme division represented by the Divisional Officer, D O of Konye, Attah Moses Ndep.

The outgone first deputy Mayor is the present Principal of Government Bilingual High School kumba while the third deputy Mayor is a Head teacther of a Government Primary school, making their functions incompatible with that of the Council executive.

The new deputy Mayors of the konye Council stood unchallenged as a pair and they received 26 votes out of 32 with 6 null votes.

Congratulating the newly elected deputy Mayors, the Divisional Officer of Konye Sub division , enjoined them to work in collaboration with their peers for the well-being of the konye municipality.

Attah promised to channel the outcome of the election to the Senior Divisional Officer for Meme division, who is the Supervisory Authority of Councils in Meme division.

The session was attended by the Mayor of the konye Council, Dr Barrister George Musima Lobe.

The journey to and from konye was quite smooth and peaceful despite heavy security presence without a single gunshot unlike the previous trip  during the Administrative and Management Accounts of the konye Council some few months back.

story, P.O

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *